Posted by: mesabimisadventures | December 21, 2011

Don’t Have a Cow. Give One.

Satchel Paige’s famous quote – “How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?” should be twisted slightly when you feel the green-eyed monster taking over – “How rich would you be if you didn’t know how rich you are?”

I remember feeling embarrassed in college because my car was old, really old.  Only 2 years newer than me actually.  It was so old it didn’t have fuel injection (or power windows and locks or a/c).  My friends all had significantly newer vehicles and although I loved my car, I couldn’t help but be envious of others.  I used to get frustrated that my parents wouldn’t buy me a nicer car and as a college student, I had no chance of buying a better one for myself.

“Mom, I NEED a new car.  This car is sooo old.”

Need?

If you’re reading this, you’re rich.  Take joy in what you have and recognize that you really could have it much much worse.

You can get mad at me for saying this or you can take a step back and ask yourself, “how can I improve the situation for one person today who genuinely has it much worse than me because as an American, I’m doing pretty swell.  My needs are on a different scale.  And I have the ability to powerfully lower someone’s needs on this Earth we share.”

Don’t have a cow.  Give one.  Literally.

Yes, I’m serious.

Heifer International is an organization that allows you to do just that.  Give a cow.  Or a camel.  Or some honeybees.  Or some… well, check out the options, they are pretty diverse.  In their own words, “With gifts of livestock and training, Heifer projects help families improve their nutrition and generate income in sustainable ways. We refer to the animals as “living loans” because in exchange for their livestock and training, families agree to give one of its animal’s offspring to another family in need. It’s called Passing on the Gift – a cornerstone of our mission that creates an ever-expanding network of hope and peace.”

It may sound kinda’ crazy, but think about the awesomeness of this opportunity.  You are providing sustenance for a family that will appreciate it.  A family with a need that goes beyond our needs, no matter how great we feel they are.  For those of you who are vegetarian or vegan and feel squeamish about giving a living animal to someone knowing that it will most likely be eaten, there are other options, such as trees that you can check out as well.

It’s not a handout.  It’s a hand-up.  You can’t teach a man to fish if there are no fish to start with.  Provide the fish, provide a future.

Thank you to Lindsay E. and Lisa W. who both independently recommended that I check out this organization for my 16th Day of Giving.  This donation is for the both of you who generously give your time and resources to make this world a better place.

Note: This is the sixteenth post in a series of 31 highlighting donation opportunities this holiday season. 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

