Posted by: mesabimisadventures | December 14, 2011

Cookies and Juice

“Cookies and juice, cookies and juice, a little pint of me for some cookies and juice” (singsongy voice)

I am NOT a huge fan of needles, but really, who is? I’m also fairly fond of my blood staying within the confines of my skin where I feel it belongs. I’ve invested a lot into it, so I tend to want to keep it. However, I don’t NEED all of it. We all have between 10-12 pints of it and when you donate blood, they only take 1 pint. So I try to be brave and give up the 1 pint when I’m qualified (I’ve struggled with anemia at times), knowing that my body won’t take long to regenerate it.

Last time I donated, I posted on Facebook that I had saved three lives that day. At first I had actually impressed some folks who I think envisioned me pulling people out of a burning car or something equally dramatic, and while that would be super cool, I had, in reality, simply walked into the Memorial Blood Center office in Hibbing and rolled up my sleeve. There are three critical components to our blood – platelets, red blood cells, and plasma – and all three can be used to save lives.

The shocking thing is that 1 out of every 3 of us will need a blood transfusion at some point in our lives and it isn’t always the result of a horrific car crash or other accidental release. Not everyone is capable of donating, either due to their own illnesses or risk factors, so that means that those of us who are physically capable need to step up to the plate. We can’t stand to the side and say we’re too scared of needles to donate. Put yourself in the shoes of the parent whose child’s life is hanging in the balance or the wife whose husband is going into surgery. What’s scarier? A needle poke or facing the possible death of your loved one because too many people were afraid of a needle?

Does it feel weird to donate? Yeah, sometimes for me it does. I will admit that I always look away when they are putting the needle in and sometimes it’s a little disconcerting to see a bag filling up with my blood. I’m usually a little sleepy the next day, but that might just be a sort of placebo effect – I might just think I’m supposed to feel sleepy and use it as a good excuse to get Matt to be extra nice to me.

After 9/11 a lot of people donated for the first time (myself included), but it’s been 10 years now. How many of you have struggled to find the time to head over to Memorial Blood Center?

It’s an hour of your time for 3 lives.

And did I mention the cookies and juice?

They are delicious 😉

Note: This is the fourteenth post in a series of 31 highlighting donation opportunities this holiday season.

Leave a Reply

Categories

