Posted by: mesabimisadventures | December 6, 2011

Pulling Folks Out of the Darkness

Last November, I wrote about my struggle to climb out of a little hole I had fallen into during 2010 courtesy of a few events that had occurred (not my wedding!).  I was luckily able to pull myself out of it, but had I not been able to, I would have been able to access professional help through either our company’s employee assistance program or somewhere else with my health insurance.

Not everyone has that luxury to either 1) be able to pull themselves out (granted, it was a shallow hole) or 2) rely on quality health insurance or EAPs.  Those people may feel they have nowhere to turn.  They’re caught in a trap, battling their brains that are betraying them, perhaps wanting help but becoming more depressed or anxious or upset because they cannot afford the assistance.

Luckily for our community, we have the Human Development Center located in the Twin Ports.  “HDC’s mission is to lead our communities by providing integrated, culturally respectful mental health and addiction services that foster hope, self-determination, and recovery. Our focus on serving those most in need improves the quality of life for all.”

A friend of mine turned to me for help several months ago because she was finally able to admit that she needed counseling to deal with her severe depression, but she didn’t know how she could afford to get help with her barely-more-than-minimum wage job.  It broke my heart because I knew that it had taken her a lot of courage to admit after all these years that she needed help and now she was stuck until she could find a way to pay for counseling.  We were referred to the Human Development Center, where we discovered that they offer a sliding fee scale to those without insurance.  This program very well may have been a life-saver for my friend.

Some people dismiss mental illness as “real” illness.  They think folks are just weak and should be able to push through their issues.  I call shenanigans on that.  Unless you’ve lived with a brain that seems to hate you at times, you simply don’t understand.  Attempt to have some compassion and understand that some folks’ brains are wired differently.  Be thankful that you don’t struggle with anxiety that causes you to not be able to leave your house or depression that causes you to feel no hope or any of the other disabling mental illnesses that exist, such as bipolar or schizophrenia.  Mental illness is as real of a health issue as cancer and deserves as much of our attention.

On my 6th day of giving, I’m choosing the Human Development Center as the recipient because I believe in a community that looks out for others and lends a hand to pull them out of their darkness.  Thank you Melissa S. for letting me know that donations are accepted!

Note: This is the sixth post in a series of 31 highlighting donation opportunities this holiday season.  You can also find the Human Development Center on Facebook to learn more!

Responses

  1. Nice posts. Good to know people like you exist Julie!

    Wes

    • That means a lot to me coming from you Wes 🙂 Thank you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

