Posted by: mesabimisadventures | December 3, 2011

Rescuing Innocence and Restoring Faith (Part 2)

I try to be light-hearted when I blog.  I enjoy making people smile, laugh a little, or at the very least, shake their head in amusement.  There is no light-hearted side to the trafficking of humans though.  No way to discuss it without being serious.  Without being upset.  Without feeling rage that other human beings can have the capacity to destroy other humans’ souls.

Last night’s event in Duluth to support A Beautiful Rescue was soul-opening for me and I’m finding it difficult to put my emotions into sentences that fit together.

I’m angry.

I’m scared.

Mostly I’m angry.

I’m angry that in our vanilla, white-bread world, people can dismiss that sex trafficking happens around them.  In Duluth.  Probably on the Range.  This isn’t just a problem in Cambodia or Thailand.  It’s here.  In our backyards.

I’m angry that those of us in sheltered, protected worlds haven’t acknowledged that women caught in that world deserve to be rescued away.  That they didn’t ask for that life.  That they may have been led to it by their own parents.  Or family.  Or friends.  They may have been kidnapped.  They may have been runaways who were viewed as prey and then became preyed upon.  They may be survivors of sexual assault who don’t see that their lives have value beyond what their bodies can offer.

I’m angry at men for preying on these women and creating their lives as they now are.  I’m angry at men who use prostitutes without questioning if they are there by choice.  Or if there is a man watching them from a distance who will later take the money she earns for letting that john pick away at what remains of her soul.  I’m angry at the father who didn’t guide his son properly.  Who didn’t teach his son that women are human too.  And deserve respect and love and protection from forces physically stronger than them.

I’m angry at women who judge.  Who think women caught in sex trafficking deserve what they get.  Who think the majority of those women chose that life for themselves.  Who think it doesn’t matter because it’s underground/subculture/less-thans.  Who think that they and the women they love are above it.  Who think it couldn’t happen to them or someone they love.  Who don’t teach their sons the same lessons the father should teach.

I’m angry at myself.  That I had no recognition of the horror that exists right in front of me.

But I’m also proud.

I’m proud of the men and women who are stepping up to rescue these trapped women and work through all of the challenges of rewiring their minds so that they see their value in the world.  I’m proud of the men and women who have raised their children to respect people.  And love people.  I’m proud of the men who DO respect women.

I love my little vanilla, white-bread world where my nieces are safely tucked in every night in their homes.  Where they are innocent.  Where they have faith that people are good.  It would destroy me if they were ever lost to this other world that exists around us.  I would be unstoppable.

I should be anyways.

Those women who are caught in the sex-trafficking trade are someone’s nieces, their daughters, their cousins, their friends.  They are human beings.  21st-century sex slaves.  Former little girls who used to be tucked in at night with their foreheads kissed.  Former little girls with innocence and faith that the world was good.

I don’t want to live in a world where we’re okay with this happening.  Do you?

For more information about A Beautiful Rescue and other organizations dedicated to ending sex trafficking and restoring women, please check out the following sites:

A Beautiful Rescue
PAVSA
God’s Child Project
Somaly Mam Foundation

My 2nd day of giving was inspired by my friend Jody, who is dedicated to restoring these women’s lives.  Thank you Jody for opening my eyes to this tragedy.

Note: This is the second half of my second post in a series of 31 highlighting donation opportunities this holiday season.

Leave a Reply

Categories

