Posted by: mesabimisadventures | November 28, 2011

Uffda, I’m Such a Minnesotan

I have to confess something.

I feel really conflicted telling people about my 31 Days of Giving Project.

It feels, well… weird.

I’m a Minnesotan, by birth and by nature.  I was raised to believe that we’re not supposed to tell people we donate to charity.

The 12th-century Jewish leader Maimonides ranked anonymous giving as the 2nd level of giving.  He believed (and I concur) that the “rich” shouldn’t feel special for giving and “poor” people shouldn’t feel bad about having to receive charity.

The problem is that I can’t push others to recognize and share their blessings unless I am willing to talk about the project.

But it can still feel weird, right?

Note: Please let me know if there are special events coming up that I can let people know about or attend or both!  Or if you need a pledge for a cause!  There are still 2 openings for the project.

Leave a Reply

Categories

