Posted by: mesabimisadventures | April 11, 2009

Yay for Spring Creek Outfitters!

As most of you know, my patience level on a scale of 1 to 10 is approximately negative 37.  If I find something I like and I have $, then chances are it’s going to be mine.  Sometimes I’ll manage a 24-hour waiting period, but that’s a true rarity. 

And that’s why I’m now the proud owner of a Wilderness Systems Pungo 120 kayak(a pink one of course!).

When most people up here think about kayaks or canoes, they automatically seem to think they’re either going to have to go to Ely or Duluth for a decent selection.  But I say “think again my paddling friends!”  Spring Creek Outfitters in Mountain Iron not only has a really diverse selection, but a really awesome staff that is much more patient than yours truly.  I felt really bad for the poor guy yesterday as I played the 40-question game with him about their kayak selection, but he survived the interrogation and convinced me to add a 12-footer to my collection of kayaks today (I gave myself a whopping 18 hours to think it over).  The prices are sweet because for the most part the kayaks and canoes are “factory seconds.”  Nothing significant is wrong with them, but they aren’t quite perfect enough to be sold “normally.”  Even if it’s not a factory second, the price is still significantly less than MSRP as I discovered today when I found out the one I had to have wasn’t a factory second (and no, my decision wasn’t solely based on it being pink.  It did seem like a sign though).

Now if only I could find a lake that wasn’t frozen over – heck, Matt just went ice fishing on Birch last weekend and even drove his truck on the ice!  Notice I didn’t say my truck 😉

Responses

  1. There’s always Silver Lake;)

  2. We bought two kayaks, Wilderness System Tsunami’s. from Spring Creek last fall. Couldn’t be happier. We went kayaking for the first time this year yesterday on the Prairie River. Lots of migrating waterfowl since there isn’t much other open water around.

  3. Dang Silver Lake – ye’s a thorn in my side 😉

    Ooh, the Tsunami’s were sweet. I really liked them, but my hips were a wee bit too child-bearing to comfortably fit. Nice choice!


Leave a Reply

Categories

